Archive for May 12th, 2010

h1

Betrayed: Part 2

May 12, 2010

I was fairly sure both parties were offering more accountable, transparent government. Apparently not.

h1

Liberal Democrat Betrayal?

May 12, 2010

Liberal Democrat Betrayal?

I voted Liberal Democrat and my stomach churns when I think about it. Because I voted for Liberal Democrats, David Cameron’s Conservatives are in government. Lots of people who voted for Lib Dem last week, are feeling the same, and many of them are shouting because they feel betrayed..

We weren’t betrayed. I am angry that we have a ‘pro-life’ women’s minister-and my vote contributed to it-but this was not a betrayal. The Liberal Democrats are who they always said they were. Did what they always said they were going to do, and if I am honest, the party who will lose the most from this situation is them.

They are a party who share a great deal of common ground with the right and the left. That is the reason for their existence. The Liberal Democrats were never a left wing party, and they never pretended to be.

Their progressive agenda may have struck a chord with the left wing, but the perception of the Lib Dems  as Guardian backed replacement and supplement for the Labour party, is one borne of a popular mythology. A mythology which misunderstands the word liberal: focusing on its cultural manifestation, the opposition to the Iraq war or the authoritarian tendencies of Labour. People either ignored, or were ignorant of the political and economic understanding of liberalism.

I wasn’t duped. I voted for the Liberal Democrats because of their potential to bridge the gap between the left and the right. Because I was alienated from the party whose ideals mirror mine most closely, I voted for a party whose ideas I agreed with, and accepted that there were ideals which I would not share. Nobody else was duped either.

The fact is, the Conservatives won more seats in this election. It is right that the Conservatives were approached first, and it is right that Labour were also approached. It is abundantly clear that Labour had no commitment to a coalition with the Liberal Democrats, and in those circumstances Liberal Democrats did not betray anyone in working with David Cameron

I still feel sick, and angry at myself for voting for them. Not their fault.

I am being a bit of a mardy arse about this Cameron government- but common sense tells you theirs is a pyrrhic victory. Election will come round again soon… in the meantime we have a parliament with a strong opposition for the first time in years.

Maybe Labour will be forced to use this time to ask some questions, a spell in opposition may be just what they need. I can’t remember a time a healthy opposition was needed more. Labour are not entitled to govern and democracy has held them accountable.

That said, in the wise words of David Quantick- If I was called a “Liberal”, I wouldn’t even pretend to be happy about sharing a cabinet with Theresa May. Fucking dogarsed sellout Clegg.