h1

Immunisations.

July 2, 2010

Holding your child down, while two nurses stab her in the arm with needles- not fun.  I am not sure she fully understood it was for her own good. The ‘baby chou chou’ her dad bought her  eased the pain somewhat.

It looks like the creepy doll that crawls across the ceiling in Trainspotting. I am torn between the desire to kick it because it scares me, and an obviously maternal instinct of not wanting to upset my daughter by jumping up and down on her ‘baby’. She has called this one Jesus as well 😦

It may be best we are moving out of the area, a CofE school really might have had difficulty tackling that.

One comment

  1. I have two young daughters, and one thing I have learned from both of them is that they hate needles. I used to hold my little girls down too, but it only added to the distress of having a needle. one day though, a doctor suggested that I do things differently, and since then, immunisations and injections have become a breeze.

    Simply, sit your child on your knee, with them facing, side-on into your body. You can either turn their head away from the doctor as he performs the injection, or you can distract them by talking to them. The doctors are usually pretty quick with the injections, so your child only realises something is up once the injection takes place.

    The good thing about this method is that your child is already close to you, and in a natural comforting position, so the pain or distress is soon eased. I hope this helps. 🙂



Leave a Reply

