h1

Memo to self.

June 24, 2010

Read about ‘culture wars’- may be relevant.

3 comments

  1. This is actually a comment on your “The Budget and Me!” post, but I didn’t want to post it there, I’ll explain in a moment. I just wanted to express my sympathy to you, as many others have done. I can’t really do anything for you personally, but when I come across someone in my town who is in a similar situation, I’m going to do what I can to help them. Regardless of country or government or policies, I’ve found that life is sometimes cruel and simply unfair. Our children tend to provide the bright spots, in my experience at least. It seems that is possibly true for you. I have one other hope that I just wanted to share. I have hope that this life isn’t all there is, and that I will spend eternity with God. I don’t want to be automatically classified as a “fundamentalist”, the way you dislike being classified as a single mother who takes advantage of the system. I hesitated to post this, and didn’t do it on your other post because it was freshly pressed (congrats, by the way), and I didn’t want to start a debate or anything like that. I just want you to know that I wouldn’t be able to get through life without knowing that Jesus is walking by my side through all of life’s imperfections, and that He’ll take me home when it’s over. I’m even able to find joy in the midst of hardship when I look to Him. I don’t know your experience of “religion” or anything, and I’m not trying to sell you on anything. I have only spent one wonderful week in your country, and know the stereotypes of the British and Christianity only, and don’t pretend to know you. I just wanted to share that I have hope, and I believe the same hope is available to you. I hope I haven’t offended.


    • I don’t believe christianity and fundamentalism are the same thing. I believe people should be able to find god in their own way- my post was about a specific group of political lobby groups, and MP’s who are fundamentalist- and believe that restriction of abortion, homophobic discrimination, and punishing single mothers is an expression of their christianity. In my eyes, they are a political group=rather than any represntation of christianity that I recognise.


  2. Thanks for making the distinction between Christians and fundamentalists, sometimes people don’t :).



Leave a Reply

