h1

Something weird.

April 7, 2010

When I was a little girl I couldn’t bear food with a pale colour, and creamy texture.

Custard, cream, mayonnaise,  yoghurt, vanilla ice cream. I would only eat red cheese, and couldn’t eat lasagne unless the top half had been taken off, any suggestion that the bechamel had touched my portion resulted in the immediate threat of chunder.

Macaroni cheese, a dinner lady who was surely a muse for Roald Dahl, and a complete infringement of my bodily autonomy- VERY upsetting childhood memory.

Quite a few of my mealtime memories from childhood are like that. ..I might write a ‘misery lit’ like Frank McCourt or Dave Pfeltzer, call it ‘My childhood of bushtucker trials”..Cheddar cheese served up instead of cockcroaches

I digress.

Rachel has exactly the same dislike. I grew out of it so she has never seen me turn my nose up at these things (being brutally honest, dairy probably forms 70% of my diet now)

Weird.

(possibly dull, but it’s my blog and I don’t care!haha)

2 comments

  1. Not dull. Reminds me of my family and bananas. I never liked them as a child although now as an adult I will eat them. But all my children think they are utterly revolting and will not go near them. Who’d have thought eh?


  2. Not weird really – as a child I couldn’t bear hot and cold things on the same plate – salad with new potatoes – nooooooooooooooooooooo



Leave a Reply

