h1

New Rule.

February 19, 2010

If you are talking about actual human beings, suffering, even though that suffering is preventable- on the basis of hypothetical situations, beliefs based on no evidence, and soundbite principles like ‘sanctity of life’-then your argument is bogus.

That applies to the anti-abortion movement(I can not call them pro-life, given how many women’s lives are lost through being denied basic reproductive health services), people arguing that assisted suicide should be a crime, and people arguing that condoms should not be used, in countries ravaged by AIDs.

These are not ethical debates. An ethical dilemma, is being on the horns of two equally unwelcome alternatives. These are not complex- they are very simple.

The suffering of real life humans, beats pretend babies, slippery slopes, morality, and soundbites like ‘sanctity of life’-every time. Hands down, easy. You cannot argue ‘sanctity of life’ while creating situations, which cause quantifiable harm, and suffering. There is no sanctity, in a life of suffering, that is preventable.

3 comments

  1. Sense at last !. I am one of the few who have lost a baby at birth and who still think that women have the right to choose whether or not to have an abortion. Womens health, be it social, physical or emotional should be first and foremost but often is overlooked for religious and self centred reasonings.


  2. I have a problem with recurring miscarriages, and I had a woman tell me she couldn’t believe that I could be pro-abortion. I am not pro-abortion- its a terribly difficult thing to go through. But I cannot for the life of me see why my loss of babies, would make me want to force a woman to go through a pregnancy against her will. Barbaric.
    I refuse to use the pro-life rhetoric, half the reason they do so well is that their language dominates the debate. I am pro-life. Pro-womens lives.


  3. I honestly feel you should consider journalism as a profession. Your views and opinions are always insightful, often witty, and always cut to the heart of an issue. Agree totally on this point of course.



Leave a Reply

