h1

Final Blog Post.

September 14, 2010

I started this blog because I didn’t know what to do. I had just left work,  for the first time since my daughter was born, I was at home with her. I had never put pen to paper before in my life. I didn’t think anyone would read it. When I started keeping this blog, I didn’t realise life was going to get quite so tough, and I certainly didn’t realise I would get so much out of it.

Rachel is at school and my life has moved to a new chapter. New business, new house, and I get to return to the world.

This blog feels like it’s done.

Thankyou to the many thousands of you that took the time to read it. Thank you for the comments, the discussions, the guest posts, the commissions, and for being very kind about the commas. Most of you.

Take care.

PS- you know I’ll probably start another one as soon as I have time, right?

18 comments

  1. :-(


  2. I’m gutted you are no longer continuing this. I love the way you write and always find your POV thought-provoking and down-to-earth, and frequently hilariously funny. I sometimes don’t agree with you, and sometimes I learn, and that’s exactly how it should be. We’re not all meant to be the same, but instead learn from the diversity of humanity. Very few illustrate the diversity of humanity with such a keen and cutting edge as you do.

    Best of luck with your new life, Lisa. It’s been great to witness – even a little bit – the transition. I’m glad I came back.

    Clare XX
    P.S, whilst I celebrate your new career, I hope you become a full-time journalist sometime soon.


  3. i have only been following your blog for a short while(have not long worked out wat a blog was ad how to follow one ect that’s how computer litterate i am lol) and i have found it very informative and entertaining.
    I sincerely wish you well in the new chapter in your life and hope everything works out for you .
    Thank you so very much for sharing your life with us and wish you every success with your new business and familly life
    yours sincerely
    mark


  4. Great blog, Lisa. I always used to read the title as “Deeply Flawed Buttering” :)

    Didn’t always agree, but would always read anything/everything you had to say. One of the more intelligent voices in the blogging world.


  5. Like the others here, I haven’t always agreed with what you say but I have loved reading your blog (especially around the election back in May) which has stayed whilst others come and go.

    I am sorry that this one will stop but I totally understand the priorities which are similar to my own at the moment with a new biz to get going – strangely though, I will be using a blog as part of the promotion of the biz (developing and delivering training for foster carers, childcarers, social care workers etc…)


  6. Enjoyed reading it!


  7. Unsubscribed from your feed reader today with a heavy heart….


  8. have enjoyed following your blog, sad to see the final post though :(
    very best of luck with the business and for Rachel at school! :) x


  9. thanks for all the food for thought.


  10. Sorry to see you go, Lisa, but am hugely impressed by the glorious way in which you are moving on. This blog has been fabulous and is what has made my entire family (it feels like) into your top fan club!


  11. Hope you’ll be back blogging in times when you have had enough of real life. Good luck xx


  12. I’ll miss you! Do post here if you start a new blog – I’ll leave the RSS feed running just in case. The very best of luck to you and your daughter in the future.


  13. that’ll teach me to be so late to the party! damn :(


  14. It will be sad to see you go. I assume you’ll be keeping up your twitter activities?

    As Paul Wilson states above your coverage of the election was really good fun. I hope we can expect a return, or a new blog, at the next political ruck?

    Good luck with the new business. We all wish you well.


  15. Why not continue it at a slower pace.

    Since you are a writer not without gifts, in the midst of the hustle and bustle of your family life, continuing this blog rather than launching a whole new one, would add a continuity to your online writing oeuvre.

    Even if you took an extended break from it, returning to a blog with your older lingering thoughts, with a maturing perspective, has some value. Besides, you have the benefit of it remaining in google for some time. It is usually better to retrofit and upgrade an existing house than start anew from scratch, in my opinion.


  16. […] ‘Final blog post’ from Deeply Flawed But Trying on 14 September 2010 […]


  17. Just read you comment @ Liberal Conspiracy on
    “The anti-cuts movement isn’t going away, Labour party”

    Excellent. This is very close to what is happening in Lewisham.

    The Held a very sucessful ‘Carnival Against Cuts’ recently.


  18. [hugs]

    I’ve just been reading a comment you made here http://www.guardian.co.uk/politics/2011/apr/01/jobcentres-tricking-people-benefit-sanctions .

    Totally sickening. =(



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

